More Free Maps: Maps that Teach

Africa Map, Map of Africa with all the countries and capitals

Maps of All of the Countries of Africa

Africa Map Puzzle

Middle East Map

Mediterranean Sea

Indian Ocean

Online Atlas Map of Africa

Print Large or Small Maps of Africa and African Countries

Maps of All Countries

Map of Europe

Map of the United States

Notes on Africa:

Senegal and the Gambia:

     Senegal and The Gambia agreed to merge in 1981 into Senegambia but the agreement was dissolved in 1989.  The Gambia, the smallest country in Africa, is still almost a part of Senegal.

Democratic Republic of the Congo:

     The Democratic Republic of the Congo was formerly know as Zaire.

Cote d'Ivoire:

     Cote d'Ivoire was formerly known as Ivory Coast.

Capital of Cote d'Ivoire:

     Yamoussoukro has been the official capital of Cote d'Ivoire since 1983.  However, Abidjan remains the administrative center and foreign countries have their embassies there.

Capital of Western Sahara:

     The former Spanish colony of Western Sahara was annexed by Morocco in 1975.  A cease-fire with groups fighting for independence was established in 1991.  The United Nations plans to hold a referendum on independence but probably not before 2002.  Since Western Sahara has no government it has no capital.

Information from:     The CIA World Fact Book

Free Educational Software: Owl and Mouse Educational Software
All material copyright 2000-2009 by Owl and Mouse Educational Software